Consortium of National and University Libraries

Committee Structure

Teaching and Learning Subcommittee:  Standing committee to investigate the role of libraries in teaching and learning.

Terms of Reference

  1. Provide a Community of Practice and foster a culture of teaching excellence amongst CONUL members
  1. Explore, research, identify and share best practice in embedding information literacy into teaching and learning, focussing on the areas of transition, retention, student experience, linking teaching and research and graduate attributes
  1. Share strategies to collaborate with academic colleagues on embedding critical academic skills in the curricula of CONUL institutions
  1. Advise, advocate, lobby and influence in emerging areas such as digital literacies, technology led teaching and research led teaching in undergraduate programmes
  1. Unlock the national value of unique and distinct collections through our teaching practice
  1. Ensure Libraries are central to Learning and Teaching and review skills and competency needs of Library staff to provide quality teaching
  1. Organise training and development events when required such as the annual Teaching and Learning Seminar
  1. Recognize outstanding contribution to the field through our Teaching and Learning Award
  1. Advocate and work to ensure that appropriate questions in relation to value of Library

        Skills  for students and assessment of impact are included in the ISSE national student


  1. Collaborate with other CONUL members, our own local institutions, and national bodies

         such as the National Forum for Teaching and Learning and the LAI Taskforce on Information

         Literacy to promote and advocate for the role of IL in all aspects of academic, work and life 


Aine Carey (National University of Ireland Maynooth) (Secretary)

Alex McILory (Queens University Belfast)

Clare O’Brien (University College Cork)

Diarmuid Stokes (University College Dublin)

Julie De Foubert (Dublin Institute of Technology)

Lisa O ‘Callaghan (Dublin City University)

Liz Dore (University of Limerick) (Communications Officer)

Margaret Rooney (Trinity College Dublin)

Mary Rose Holman (Ulster University)

Niall McSweeney (National University of Ireland Galway) (Chair)

Niall O’Brien (Royal College of Surgeons Ireland)