Consortium of National and University Libraries

Regulatory Affairs

Membership 2017-2020

Chair: David Meehan (DCU)

Deputy Chair: Susan Reilly (UCD)

Secretary: Cora Gleeson (UL)

Communications Officer: Patricia Quigley (TCD)


Virginia Conrick (UCC)
Aisling Keane (NUIG)
Della Keating (NLI)
Elizabeth Murphy (MU)
Paul Murphy (RCSI)
Brian Widdis (TU Dublin)


CONUL Regulatory Affairs Standing Sub-Committee (RASC)

Terms of Reference

The CONUL Standing Sub-Committee on Regulatory Affairs has been established to proactively address legislative and other aspects of the regulatory framework as they apply to CONUL and to assess and advise on the implications as they apply to member libraries.

The remit of the group consists of the following strands:

  • To maintain a watching brief on developments in the regulatory framework including legislation which may have implications for members of CONUL
  • To provide an  overview of the relevant legislation or other developments in the regulatory  framework, emphasising the statutory implications for CONUL libraries
  • To advise CONUL on the regulatory aspects and climate that might affect proposed services and activities e.g. IPR, DRM, licensing issues
  • To advise CONUL and provide supporting documentation on policies and practices necessary to ensure compliance
  • To provide input on behalf of CONUL into submissions/responses to public consultations on regulatory affairs, both nationally and EU wide
  • To work with government and regulatory agencies on specific issues as directed by CONUL
  • At the direction of CONUL to carry out research and make recommendations, on opportunities arising from changes to legislation & regulation
  • Through established CPD channels, to actively participate in the dissemination of information to staff in the CONUL Libraries to ensure compliance with relevant regulations and legislation