Consortium of National and University Libraries


Chair: Christoph Schmidt-Supprian (TCD)

Deputy Chair: Monica Crump (NUIG)

Secretary: Julia Christopher (UCD)

Communications Officer: Marie G. Cullen (MU)

Members: Maire Bradley (QUB), Miriam Corcoran (DCU), Bernadette Cunningham (RIA), Mary Dundon (UL), Honora Faul (NLI), Ann McSweeney (TU Dublin), Crónán Ó Doibhlin (UCC)

Terms of Reference

  1. Explore, research, and identify best practice in collection development, collection management, shared storage and shared LMS systems
  2. Advise, advocate, lobby and influence for funding for a collaborative storage facility for CONUL collections
  3. Establish a sub-group which will co-ordinate and manage the delivery of a CONUL union catalogue
  4. Establish a sub-group which will co-ordinate collaborative storage initiatives, beginning with the extension of the CONUL distributed print archive (DPA) for journals
  5. Actively identify opportunities for the preparation of position papers on collections related matters for the CONUL board
  6. Liaise with all CONUL Groups as appropriate, in particular, Unique and Distinct Collections Group and the CONUL Research Group on issues of mutual interest and concern and CONUL Training & Development re training and development related to collection matters
  7. Maintain a watching brief on national LMS projects
  8. Meet quarterly to advance its objectives and review progress made